Light from Jodi Bieber

Third year Rhodes photojournalism student Bianca Du Plessis with critically acclaimed South African photographer, Jodi Bieber
Third year Rhodes photojournalism student Bianca Du Plessis with critically acclaimed South African photographer, Jodi Bieber

My friend Bianca looks into the lens again to see if the picture is set up perfectly. After several adjustments, she looks at the posing group with satisfaction. She clicks the button, runs to a spot in the group just before the camera catches all the smiles.

Bianca has always loved taking photos, she’s the first to volunteer to capture images and moments from any event, big or small. Her passion for photography was the reason why she took photojournalism in third year at Rhodes.

That passion began to disappear at the start of this year; it broke my heart to see my friend so frustrated. “I’m not enjoying the projects I’m just churning out!” she said. She stopped having wonderful ideas she was confident about.

A few months later, it’s halfway through September and I can see a hint of passion creeping back, partly due to a visit from successful South African photographer, Jodi Bieber. “My personal work that I was passionate about and spent the most time on, is what pushed me forward in my career. The pictures I knew were important to take, I took”, Jodi Bieber explained to the attentive photojournalism students at a talk in term three. “Well,” I thought, “That’s exactly what Bee needs to hear!” She gave me a big smile when she heard that encouragement.

After this encounter with Bieber I began to imagine her taking on the township education photo project like she had always wanted to. “Maybe I WILL do that project, I don’t care if one person doesn’t like it, I believe in it so I’ll go with it” she declared a couple of weeks later. As a result, today, I am able to see Bianca as the excellent photographer that she is passionate about being.

 

This is the last photo in Jodi Bieber's Soweto photos. She likes it for what it personally represents to her; homeliness and pride, just as Bee's photos all mean very personal things to her.(http://www.jodibieber.com/jodi-bieber-photographer/projects/soweto/)
This is the last in Jodi Bieber’s Soweto photos. She likes it for what it personally represents to her; homeliness and pride. Just as Bee’s photos all mean very personal things to her.(Photo Source: http://www.jodibieber.com/jodi-bieber-photographer/projects/soweto/)
Leave a Reply

